Law schools in Canada: there’s at least one in every province. In total there are:

  • 17 English-language faculties teaching common law;
  • 1 French-language common law school; and
  • 6 French-language civil law schools.

That combines for a total of 22 law schools, because two offer concurrent programs in English and French. Currently there is no permanent law school in Nunavut, though, or the Northwest and Yukon Territories.

To see which schools are “top rated,” you should check out the Maclean’s law school ranking survey results or the Ivy Global Canada list. Here’s a complete list of all the Canadian common law schools in Canada. (If you’d rather look at a map, click here.)

Law Schools in Canada Teaching Common Law

Common law is practised in every Canadian province except Quebec. It’s also the same legal system as the United States of America, Great Britain, India, and Australia.

Province (city)SchoolDegreeTypeFounded
Alberta (Edmonton)University of Alberta, Faculty of LawJDPublic1912
Alberta (Calgary)University of Calgary, Faculty of LawJDPublic1976
British Columbia (Kamloops)Thomson Rivers University, Faculty of LawJDPublic2011
British Columbia (Vancouver)University of British Columbia, Peter A. Allard School of LawJDPublic1945
British Columbia (Victoria)University of Victoria, Faculty of LawJDPublic1975
Manitoba (Winnipeg)University of Manitoba, Faculty of LawJDPublic1885
New Brunswick (Moncton)Université de Moncton, École de droitJDPublic1978
New Brunswick (Fredericton)University of New Brunswick, Faculty of LawJDPublic1892
Nova Scotia (Halifax)Dalhousie University, Schulich School of LawJDPublic1883
Ontario (Thunder Bay)Lakehead University, Bora Laskin Faculty of LawJDPublic2013
Ontario (Kingston)Queen's University, Faculty of LawJDPublic1957
Ontario (Ottawa)University of Ottawa, Faculty of LawJDPublic1953
Ontario (Toronto)University of Toronto, Faculty of LawJDPublic1949
Ontario (London)Western University, Faculty of LawJDPublic1959
Ontario (Windsor)University of Windsor, Faculty of LawJD Public1967
Ontario (Toronto)York University, Osgoode Hall Law SchoolJDPublic1889
Quebec (Montreal)McGill University, Faculty of LawL.LBPublic1968
Saskatchewan (Saskatoon)University of Saskatchewan, Faculty of LawJDPublic1912
(Information provided by's "List of law schools in Canada"


Law Schools in Canada Teaching Civil Law

Civil law is practised in the Canadian Province of Quebec. It’s also the same legal system as many countries in the world, including most of Europe, Japan, China, and Russia.

Province (city)SchoolDegreeTypeFounded
Ontario  (Ottawa)University of Ottawa, Faculté de droitLL.L.Public1953
Quebec  (Montreal)McGill University, Faculty of LawB.C.L.Public1848
Quebec (Montreal)Université de Montréal,  Faculté de droitLL.B.Public1892
Quebec (Montreal)Université du Québec à Montréal, Département des sciences juridiquesLL.B.Public1969
Quebec (Sherbrooke)Université de Sherbrooke, Faculté de droitLL.B.Public1954
Quebec (Quebec City)Université Laval,  Faculté de droitLL.B.Public1852
(Information provided by's "List of law schools in Canada"